At NASW-MN, we are committed to providing the social work community with accurate information on social work licensure in Minnesota. Chapter staff and volunteers work closely with the Minnesota Board of Social Work to identify important updates and changes, and share them with our membership. We are active on the Board’s Legislative and Rules Committee, and Advisory Committee. Our goal is to ensure that all social workers receive current information about licensure regulations and standards at all stages of the licensure process.

History of Licensure

Coming soon!

Who Must Be Licensed

Coming soon!

Licensure Types and Requirements

In Minnesota, there are four categories of social work licensure: 

  • Licensed Social Worker (LSW) 
  • Licensed Graduate Social Worker (LGSW)
  • Licensed Independent Clinical Social Worker (LICSW)
  • Licensed Independent Social Worker (LISW)

Each licensure category has its own set of requirements to earn and maintain that license; this includes different requirements for supervised practice. Visit the Minnesota Board of Social Work’s website for the most current information.

Licensure Statutes

Coming soon!

Questions about Licensure?

Questions about licensure and its requirements should be directed to the Board of Social Work at 612-617-2100 or